Day 127 – Flanders Fields

Standard

I am grateful for Flanders Fields.  Tonight I went for a walk with my best friend Jolien and what started off to be a little stroll in the park behind our backyard, turned out to be walk for about an hour through the beautiful Fields that surround our neighborhoods.  We had great conversations about forgiveness, relationships – especially long distance ones – and our future.  Just two best friends enjoying time together against a gorgeous setting.  I was so glad I had brought my camera, because nature decided to give us one of their best shows, as if we were being treated as a thank you for us spending time just wandering through those glorious Fields.  We decided we are both lucky to have grown up where we did and to have been surrounded by all the beauty and joy of our environment.  And every time I get to be at home for a while, those Flanders Fields just feel like a gift.  One I will treasure forever, deep in my young smiling heart.  And even though me experiencing those wonderful Flanders Fields have no obvious connection with World War One, there is just no way to disconnect it from each other.  So with this I would like to bring tribute, yet again, to this beautiful contribution of Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae:

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.
We are the dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow
Loved, and were loved, and now we lie
In Flanders fields.
Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
The torch; be yours to hold it high.
If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
In Flanders fields.
One response »

  1. Beautiful, beautiful, Pieter. I don’t know if you realize it but this poem is very famous in the US. I’ve known it since childhood. The interesting thing, at least to me, is that until just now, I didn’t know where Flanders Field was. I know it was a place where many, including many Americans, had died in WWI… and that it was in Europe. That was the extend of my knowledge. I would like to see it some day….and take a walk on a glorious evening. I’m glad you shared it with Jolien. That is a treasure all by itself.

What makes you grateful for this?

