Day 78 – My Thesis

Standard

I am grateful for My Thesis for many reasons.  First and foremost I am grateful that I got to write my thesis.  I’m not just talking about the fact that I got to write this thesis in the line or the field of my study or whatever.  But the fact that I had the opportunity to write it.  Again, not only that I am able to write it, for which I am thankful as well, but that I was in the right place to create something like this.  Just the fact that I was born in Belgium, a country where education is highly accessible, but even more that I was born into the family where education was encouraged.  I am so thankful for that.  I am grateful for all the support I have gotten through this long journey.  Friends, family, mentors… I have received so much help from so many good people.  My eternal gratitude goes to all of them.  But I am also grateful for the subject of my thesis.  For the fact that I got to do research on a topic that I felt so passionate about for such long time.  I have honestly thought of doing a Phd more than just once.  I would just feel so blessed to be doing research, writing and teaching as an education to a job that eventually includes all of those aspects as well.  My thesis has made me realize so much about myself.  Through all those hard times and those nights of cursing this heavy quest, I am so happy and so proud to have had such outcome.  Therefore, from the bottom of my heart I just wanted to say: thank you for everything and everyone who has been connected to My Thesis.  It was a great victory, but an even more instructive and enriching journey.

One response »

  1. Well, Pieter, you know what I think of this post. Well done, son, well done. And thank you for allowing me to be a small part of your thesis.

What makes you grateful for this?