Day 36 – Children’s Drawings

Standard

I am grateful for Children’s Drawings.  They are the most pure works of art.  I am amazed by them over and over again.  It’s fascinating to me how radiating they are.  However, I only like the real stuff, the actual children’s drawings made by children.  Sometimes companies or art projects like to use that style, but it just doesn’t work.  You can tell the difference.  We have also seen entire movements emerge like Cubism or Fauvism, of which some paintings sometimes seem as if they could’ve been from the hand of a child.  Anyway, I am clearly not the only fan of this art.  This picture was actually made by my lovely godchild Lara.  She’s a real artist.  And for some reason, looking at this picture again, being grateful for her and the work of art itself, I started thinking of all of this.  Before I knew my mind brought me back to this text, which I had once recited in one of my drama classes.  It’s a wonderful story written by Josse De Pauw, which he writes about his daughter and was published in his selection called ‘Werk’.  I thought of translating it, but it’s just too beautiful how it is.  My apologies for people who don’t know Dutch, but I’m sure there’s a translation tool of your liking that could give you some idea of what the text is about.  I think it is precious.  Yet another thing to be grateful for.  Thank you, Josse De Pauw, for delighting us with your art.  Thank you, children of the world, for bringing smiles to our faces and for inspiring us to be more creative, more impulsive, more honest and more happy.  Finally, thank you, my dearest sweetest Lara, for being the joy, light and love of my life.

Ze kleurt buiten de lijnen. Ik hoop dat ze later met dezelfde vrolijke baldadigheid het leven te lijf gaat. Als ze me vraagt haar te helpen, heb ik een probleem. Ik kan het niet meer. Het is duwen en trekken. Ik kan niet meer moeiteloos buiten de lijnen kleuren. Ik probeer het wel, want ik vind mijn eigen gepriegel er zo laffig uitzien naast die forse uithalen van haar, maar het resultaat is krampachtig, mist onbezonnenheid. Het, in een schijf berkenhout gekerfde, ,,Bezint Eer Gij Begint”, dat zovele Vlaamse schouwen siert, heeft waarschijnlijk al veel onheil voorkomen in de bouwsector, maar in de kunsten, meneer, is onbezonnenheid een deel van het talent. Ze spreekt mij bestraffend toe: ik moet wél in de goeie ,,richting” kleuren. Dat is het woordje van de week. De trap naar boven is bijvoorbeeld de ,,richting” om te gaan slapen. De keukendeur is de ,,richting” van de koelkast en dus de ,,richting” van de Ice Tea, haar allereerste verslaving. ,,Papa, gaan we nu in de richting van de luchtavond?” vraagt ze als we haar moeder gaan ophalen in Zaventem. De enige juiste ,,richting” om te kleuren is diagonaal begrijp ik. Niet van boven naar onder of van links naar rechts, want dat is niet mooi. De netjes-binnen-de-lijntjes-gekleurde voorbeelden vindt ze een beetje ziek. ,,Waarom?” vraag ik. ,,Ze bewegen niet,” zegt ze, ,,ze gaan dood.” En toegegeven, er is een groot verschil. Waar zij met haar kleurendoos is langs geweest, spat het leven van de bladzijden. Ze zingt en kwebbelt aan één stuk door tijdens het werk, maar als we aan een slapende Donald Duck willen beginnen, fluistert ze: ,,Ssst…! Voorzichtig kleuren, anders wordt hij wakker.” Onbezonnenheid en inlevingsvermogen. Een mens verliest onderweg zijn grootste kwaliteiten.

2 responses »

  1. I’m pretty sure you knew I would comment on this one, Pieter. Yes, children’s drawings are so genuine, pure, and honest. I revel in the drawings that are shared with us by Amber and Alana. Often they find their way to our refrigerator. The only problem – most children love to draw and they produce so many works of art it’s hard to decide which to keep and which to … ‘not keep’. I love the brightness of Lara’s picture. Thanks so much for sharing it…. and for reminding me to be grateful for the simplicity and joy I see in my granddaughters’ pictures.

    Oh that we would all just remember the joy of creation.. and not be afraid to draw and share as we become adults.

  2. Dat je die tekst van Josse De Pauw voordroeg, zie ik nog zo voor mij :). Ik denk nog vaak terug aan de voordracht- en toneellessen en de fantastische tijd die we daar samen beleefd hebben. Blijf genieten van je leven en hopelijk komen we mekaar nog eens tegen!
    Groetjes,
    Joline

What makes you grateful for this?